General information on nbfc ( non-banking financial corporation )?

  1. what kind of business activities come under this category ?

  2. procedure to apply for NBFC license & terms & conditions for getting granted the license ?

  3. regulatory rules to be followed by NBFC ?

  4. non-compliance penalities for NBFC ?

1. NBFCs are categorized a) in terms of the type of liabilities into Deposit and Non-Deposit accepting NBFCs, b) non deposit taking NBFCs by their size into systemically important and other non-deposit holding companies (NBFC-NDSI and NBFC-ND) and c) by the kind of activity they conduct. Within this broad categorization the different types of NBFCs are as follows:

I. Asset Finance Company (AFC) : 

II. Investment Company (IC) : 

III. Loan Company (LC): 

IV. Infrastructure Finance Company (IFC): 

V. Systemically Important Core Investment Company (CIC-ND-SI)

2.The applicant company is required to apply online and submit a physical copy of the application along with the necessary documents to the Regional Office of the Reserve Bank of India. The application can be submitted online by accessing RBI’s secured website . 

3.Entities Regulated by RBI and applicable regulations

for more information check below link